
TRAFFIC  

 

ONLINE PAYMENTS 

 

**Most Traffic Violations may be paid on line by visiting the following link www.ezcourtpay.com.  If you 

are having trouble finding your citation, please call 1-800-262-0128 between the hours of 7:00 AM to 

9:00 PM Eastern, Mon – Fri. Please allow at least 7 to 10 business days from the date you received the 

citation for it to be available to be paid online.  After ten business days, please contact the court for the 

status of the citation.   

***Online & Credit Card Payments add a convenience fee*** 

 

If you are charged with a SPEEDING VILOATION by traveling 75 mph or more on a two-lane road or 85 

mph on a four-lane road, please refer to the following link for information about Georgia’s Super 

Speeder Law.   http://www.dds.ga.gov/faqs/index.aspx?faqcategoryid=34 

If you are under 21 years of age and received a speeding citation for 24 mph or more above the speed 

limit you must appear, due to a mandatory suspension if convicted.   

 

 

 

PAYMENTS IN PERSON OR BY MAIL (Money Order or Certified Check Only) 

 

**Payments in Person may be paid by Cash, Credit Card or Money Order by appearing at the Franklin 

County Probate Court Monday –Friday 8 am- 4:30 pm.   Please note that all Credit Card payments charge 

a convenience fee and the Card Holder must be present.  

  

**Payments by Mail must be by Money Order and Certified Check made payable to Franklin County 

Probate Court, 7085 Hwy 145 Suite A, Carnesville Georgia 30521.  The court must receive your payment 

prior to the Court Date.  If you would like confirmation/receipt please include a preaddressed stamped 

envelope with your return address. 

 

 

LATE PAYMENTS 

 

**All late payments must be made in Person or by Mail.  You must include a preaddressed stamped 

envelope with your payment to receive a reinstatement letter from the Court.  Most DMV’s require that 

you present the DS-912 Form (Reinstatement Letter), please contact your State’s DMV for instructions. 

 

 

MUST APPEAR CITATIONS 

 

** The following citations require appearance in court on the court date; DRIVING UNDER THE 

INFLUENCE, DRIVING WHILE SUSPENDED OR WITHDRAWN, NO DRIVER’S LICENSE, POSSESSION OF 

MARIJUANA, NO INSURANCE, SUSPENDED REGISTRATION, FLEEING OR ATTEMPING TO ELUDE, 

UNDERAGE POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL.  There are also certain other charges that require appearance 

such as a combination of charges and violations of Hunting and Fishing Regulations. 



 

 

CONTESTING YOUR CASE 

 

** Should you desire to contest your citation and have your case heard before a judge or jury, you must 

appear at your arraignment and enter a plea of not guilty.  Your hearing will be scheduled at a later date 

where the officer and any other witnesses will be subpoenaed.  You may obtain witness subpoenas from 

the Clerk of Probate Court at your arraignment.  Request for jury trails are transferred to Franklin 

County Superior Court. 

 

 

COMMON QUESTIONS 

 

*Do fines imposed by the Court include Super Speeder fees? 

No, Courts have nothing to do with the assessment of Super Speeder fees imposed by the State 

of Georgia as a result of speeding convictions. 

 

*How many points will be assessed to my license? 

Questions about points assessed on a Georgia license can be found at 

http://www.dds.ga.gov/drivers/dldata.aspx?con=1749471757&ty=dl .  Drivers licensed outside 

the State of Georgia should contact their home state’s DMV or website. 

 

*Can I plead to a lesser speed or reduced charge? 

If you are representing yourself, you must appear in person and speak with the Prosecutor of 

the Court.  The Prosecutor is only available on court dates.  In some cases you may have an 

attorney appear on your behalf, unless it is a mandatory must appear.  The Judge has a right to 

accept or deny any negotiated plea. 

 

*Will the Judge speak with me prior to the Court date? 

The Judge is not allowed to discuss your case with you.  Any questions of law should be directed 

to an attorney. 

 

*How will a violation affect my license if I am out-of-state? 

All convictions on out-of-state licensed drivers are transmitted to the Georgia Department of 

Driver Services which in turn transmits the conviction to your home state.  Check with your DMV 

in your home state to see how, if any, a conviction will have on your license.   

 

*Why are my charges a must appear? 

Courts may require appearance on any traffic offense, however most  “must appears” are due to 

mandatory sentencing or mandatory suspensions upon a conviction of those charges.  

 

*I posted a cash bond must I still appear? 

All must appears have to come to court on the court date regardless of the type of bond posted 

or what instructions you may have received from jail personnel.  If you do not appear, the Court 

may issue a Bench Warrant for your arrest, suspend your license and order an Execution hearing 

on the bond.   

 

 



*Can I use the Cash Bond to pay for my fines and fees? 

Cash Bonds can be applied to any fines and fees imposed by the Court.  Any fees paid to a 

Bonding Company are paid directly to that Company for posting your bond and insuring your 

appearance in court. 

 

*What if I cannot afford an attorney? 

Public Defender applications may be obtained from the Clerk of Probate Court.  Please call and 

ask a clerk how to receive an application or apply on your court date. 

 

*What happens when I get to Court? 

Court starts @ 9:00 am.  Dress appropriately and arrive 30 minutes before to check in with the 

clerks.  You will be provided a Court Instructions Sheet which will explain your options.  If you 

wish to view the Court Instructions prior to arriving please refer to the following link, 

http://franklincountyga.gov/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/Court-Instructions.pdf.   

Court security will not allow any type of weapons, cell phones or electronic devices in the 

courtroom.   

 


